PDA

View Full Version : The hardest part of my job...

NeedAGirl!
April 14th, 2011, 09:54 PM
is delivering girl babies! I am a physician who is honored to attend births. However, almost all of my patients have been having girls lately!

Yesterday, this mom had a beautiful baby girl. She already had a 2 year old boy. When this sweet pink girl was born, the mom and her sister just burst in to tears - saying "she is here, she is really here," hugging and kissing and holding her tight. She told me how they were naming her after mom's 2 sisters. You could tell this was a much wished for girl.

It is really hard to be in that moment of elation - I find myself praying desperately that that will be me next time. I feel tears welling up and I can't cry in my position. I have little flashbacks of me last time crying without being able to stop at the announcement about my suprise - "it's a boy" - and I am so sad that they were not tears of joy.

One bright spot was that I felt really happy for her. I didnt feel jaded or slighted. My best friend is pregnant too and she has 2 boys like me. We dont know what she is having yet but I actually feel hopeful she is having a girl. I think in the past, I would have worried that I would be too sad, jelous, etc.

nuthinbutpink
April 14th, 2011, 10:14 PM
That would be tough. What a wonderful thing to be a part of though! Very cool profession. I hope the site helps you to find your dream gender!

Liv
April 14th, 2011, 10:42 PM
I can imagine how hard that would be. I hope you get your girl!

My Fabulous Children
April 14th, 2011, 10:45 PM
That's so hard!!! but you know what I LOVE your attitudes and you seem like a very nice person and you so deserve to get your dream gender. I hope you get your little girl :awe:

*ruby*
April 15th, 2011, 02:49 AM