PDA

View Full Version : What should I ask during a consultation?

Alyssasmom789
May 11th, 2013, 06:38 PM
I'm new to this ht world and not even sure if we will be taking this route just yet. During a consultation with ivf doctors what should one ask (besides cost)? What are major things to look for? Ask?

Dr. Potter
May 17th, 2013, 12:28 AM
I'm new to this ht world and not even sure if we will be taking this route just yet. During a consultation with ivf doctors what should one ask (besides cost)? What are major things to look for? Ask?
I would ask how many PGD cases they do and how they see PGD affecting the results from IVF. They should do a lot and should feel that there is a large increase in pregnancy rates derived from selecting the best embryos that are genetically normal for transfer. You should ask them what type of technology they are using. If they are using FISH or PCR only or aCGH on day 3, find another clinic as these techniques do not offer any embryo selection advantage. Ask them how they are evaluating your ovarian reserve. This is how they will determine your protocol and how you will be able to assess your prognosis before you commit to doing IVF. I would be concerned if they do not asses ovarian reserve (I see a lot of patients where this is the case if you can believe it!) or rely on only a single testing (like Day 3 FSH/E2). We use three tests (Day FSH/E2, AMH and antral follicle count. The truth about ovarian reserve helps create better protocols and more informed patients. Finally, ask them how they are assessing your uterine cavity. Amazingly, many European centers do not bother checking for intrauterine pathology that can prevent success. I hope that this helps.

Alyssasmom789
May 17th, 2013, 01:17 AM
Wow thank you sooooooo much!

Alyssasmom789
May 23rd, 2013, 07:21 PM