PDA

View Full Version : Is HT for me?

Alyssasmom789
June 3rd, 2013, 09:16 PM
We have 2 amazing little girls and possibly pregnant with another. We would want to go HT next summer and I would be 28/29 yrs old and dh would be 31. We are soooo desperate for a boy. Last time we tried we completely changed our diet, took vitamins and still may have conceived a girl. The one thing that worries me is that maybe dh doesn't have xy or my eggs will not except his xy and that's why we are not having a boy.....which leads me to the panic I'm in now thinking after all that money for ivf pgd we just won't have any boys. Is that possible?! I'm so scared.

BabyGirl4Me
June 4th, 2013, 09:13 AM
I am no HT expert but wanted to post my support for you Alyssasmom. I was in your shoes at this time last year and wondering if HT would be a viable option for us. There are lots of tough questions to ask and you have to be completely honest with yourself. It's not an easy place to be, but luckily we have this site which is full of good info about HT and lots of great women who have "been there, done that, bought the t-shirt" who are here to help!

To answer some of your questions, there have been many sperm studies and the studies find that men generally make 50/50 XX/XY sperm. I have no doubt your DH produces XY sperm! Unfortunately there is an element of luck when ttc natuarly or swaying. I've seen some really killer sways fail, and then there are those who don't sway at all and end up with their DG without trying. It's weird...and unfortunate. I really wish everyone could get their DG without any effort. :(