PDA

View Full Version : Opk question..

katewantsagirl
January 5th, 2015, 05:18 PM
So I got some cheap OPKs online and it's my first time using them. I haven't been doing them that regularly. So AF was 23/12 til 30/12. I did one maybe 1/1 and there was a faint line. There was a few super faint lines and the darkest was 5/1 morning but still not super dark. I just took another now and there's almost no line at all. Heaps of cramps etc last night and ewcm yest. We dtd almost everyday up until 4/1 using pull out. Do you think O was actually abit earlier? I'm confuse because I haven't used them before. Yikes were we in the fertile window??

katewantsagirl
January 5th, 2015, 05:41 PM

So it dried like this. Is that a positive or?

mommymachine
January 5th, 2015, 07:05 PM
No that is not positive. You can gear up to O but not actually O. I would keep testing.

LacePrincess
January 5th, 2015, 09:39 PM
No not positive yet. You can have multiple LH surge attempts in one cycle too so it's not unusual to have the lines get darker, back off, and darken again later.

You should test at least 2 if not more times a day when it starts looking like it's getting darker though, so you don't miss the surge, and also afternoon pee can be better for picking up the LH surge.

atomic sagebrush
January 7th, 2015, 01:06 PM
They can get light and dark and light and dark without ovulating. Your body uses that hormone for lots of things (and even if your husband peed on it, he would also get lighter and darker lines sometimes depending on how much his body is making.

It's only when it gets as dark or darker than the control line that your body "hears" the signal and ovulates. :)

maidentomother
January 7th, 2015, 02:56 PM
What atomic said. Also, you can have both EWCM and O pain several days (or longer, even weeks) in advance of O, so neither are particularly useful for predicting O (unless maybe you've been charting/temping for years and even then you can only guess).