PDA

View Full Version : Canadian Healthcare and Early U/S?

Mochagirl
January 3rd, 2012, 04:21 PM
Ok, now that it looks like I'm pregnant, I'm obviously starting to worry this bean isn't going to stick. Here in Canada we don't normally see anyone for a pregnancy appointment until about 10 weeks. That just seems sooooooo long to me. Last pregnancy my bean was probably gone for at least a month without me knowing it before I m/c at 11 weeks.

Does anyone here (particularly Canadians) know whether I could go to my family doctor and request an earlier u/s? If I'm not technically under the care of my midwife until 10 weeks, that's not double-dipping into medicare, right? Note that my doctor is not an OB, but he's ordered a couple of u/s for me before as a follow-up to my m/c care and since he's sympathetic to everything I've gone through, I think maybe I could convince him to order an early pregnancy u/s for me too....

When would I first be able to be able to see a heartbeat? Is it 6 weeks?

DoulaMama
January 3rd, 2012, 04:36 PM
You can absolutely ask for an early u/s. Until you start having visits with your m/w, you're not double dipping, so to speak. Heck, even here when there is an issue and we need an OB consult, you can see an OB for a few visits as well as your mw so I don't see that as an issue at all. I would book it for 6-7w if you can. If your Dr. understands your fears and knows your history then I would say he would definitely give you a req. The thing with the early u/s is that it will have to be transvaginal instead of abdominal. It's not a big deal but it can cause some irritation to the cervix and cause spotting. After 9w they can usually do an abdominal u/s. KUP! I'm just so excited for you Mocha!!!! What a wonderful New Year this will be for you :HH:

Indira
January 3rd, 2012, 04:42 PM
I´m so excited to read you´re pregnant, mochagirl!
Congratulations :HH:
This pregnancy I had a transvaginal at 4 weeks, 2 days, there was nothing.