PDA

View Full Version : Cost of Local Monitoring?

serafina
January 30th, 2012, 12:46 PM
It looks like if I take the leap into high tech that I will need to travel for the IVF/PGD procedure. Which means I will need to find someplace local for monitoring. Does anyone have a rough estimate of the cost of local monitoring and what all local monitoring entails? I am new to the IVF/PDG process.

Thank you for any/all input. I am a newbie to all this :)

nuthinbutpink
January 30th, 2012, 01:18 PM
Depends on what you have done each appointment but each blood test might be around $95 and if you need an ultrasound, that might be $200. You don't do an u/s every time though, mostly bloodwork- one or 2 tests per trip. Also, the local clinic might make you pay a consult fee to them...just depends. You do pay double when you have to do that because your IVF clinic will still charge you the full amount as if they are performing the monitoring.

serafina
January 30th, 2012, 01:23 PM
Thank you! I had realized that it is a double charge of sorts since my clinic would include the charge in their costs as well. Sort of a bummer since I am more than 8 hours from a suitable clinic. Oh well, there is nothing about this process that is cheap is suppose.

Any tips on finding a good monitoring facility? Will anyplace do, or is there something specific I should look for?

nuthinbutpink
January 30th, 2012, 01:39 PM
You need a real fertility clinic and they have to be open 7 days per week because it is too hard to predict when you might need them in advance. Any IVF clinic should do- you will just have to have a reason for why if they do not work with GS patients- family friend is a good one! What part of the country/world are you in? You can start by a simple google and call and ask if they provide local monitoring assistance. It needs to be someone that can get same day blood work results too.

serafina
January 30th, 2012, 02:22 PM