PDA

View Full Version : A Question: High Protien/High Salt to prevent OHSS

Lillylolly
January 20th, 2011, 05:50 AM
Dr Potter,

I know that you recommend a high protein/high salt diet after ER, for those patients at risk of OHSS. However, there seems to be some ladies who are recommended a "low salt" & "no water" diet, from some REs -even with 20+ eggs retrieved.

I was wondering if you might explain the science behind a high salt/protein diet for those at risk of OHSS?

Thank you very much!

nuthinbutpink
February 17th, 2011, 04:58 PM
This has come up lately with a few of us and I have heard conflicting information on what is best to do if it starts coming on. Interested to hear a response too.

Persuing Lacey
February 24th, 2011, 07:39 PM
Anything Dr P? I'm about to start my cycle and really want to know this too....

lindi
February 27th, 2011, 03:15 PM
I am not a doctor, but I know there are drugs like cabergoline and bromocriptine that are proven to lessen OHSS. Also a regimen of baby aspirin has a positive impact on preventing OHSS. Those are things you can bring up with your RE.

Dr. Potter
March 3rd, 2011, 01:59 AM
Dr Potter,

I know that you recommend a high protein/high salt diet after ER, for those patients at risk of OHSS. However, there seems to be some ladies who are recommended a "low salt" & "no water" diet, from some REs -even with 20+ eggs retrieved.

I was wondering if you might explain the science behind a high salt/protein diet for those at risk of OHSS?

Thank you very much! This is wonderful question but a complex one. I am sorry but the answer is long and complicated.