Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Dream Vet
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    Uploads

Lefty Child Advice

DS1 (4yo) wants a guitar... a kids acoustic. He seems to be mostly lefty (eats, writes, kicks, throws etc) he tries to do things with his right hand a few times but only for a quick second. He plays the baby toy guitars and mine like a lefty.

Is it possible that he will stay a lefty?

Can a child turn into a righty after 4yo?
    2007 2008 2009 2010
    2012 twin

DADDY wants

Dreamer

Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    Uploads
    I have some personal experience on this subject being a special education teacher. Generally speaking a child will pick up a fork or spoon with their dominant hand. It sounds like he is left handed. Usually by 4 years old they have picked a dominant hand.

My five year old son is also left handed. He was delayed in fine motor skills in preschool so he received early intervention services. The occupational therapists that worked with him last school year told me that she has worked with children who were encouraged to use their non dominant hand and it screwed up the way they learned. It has to do with the way your brain is wired. My son would want to cut with his right hand but she recommend that he do all activities with his left hand.

It is a challenge to be left handed because it is a right handed world but my son is doing great in kindergarten.

Dream Vet
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    Uploads
    Was your son delayed because someone tried to make him use his right hand? Was he using his right hand because of watching right handed people?

Thank you... I wasn't sure when left/right set in because some websites are not very clear.
    2007 2008 2009 2010
    2012 twin

DADDY wants

Dream Vet

Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    Uploads