Dream Newbie

Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    Uploads

15 weeks pregnant with my high tech baby girl!

Hi there! I have been on this site for quite some time but this is my first time posting. I am now a third of the way through my pregnancy and am excited to share my experience for those who have questions or are still on the fence about going this route. It was so encouraging to read the forums on here and get an insight as to what to expect.
    A little background- I am 30 years old and have 4 amazing little boys with my dear husband. He has wanted a little girl for quite some time and after our 4th perfect little guy I felt it was time to stop rolling the dice.
    I started this process about 7 months ago so I don’t remember every detail but I’ll do my best to walk through it.
    I had my original consultation with Dr. Potter in May of 2018 and got a ton of information and was given a high chance of success based on my age and history. We weren’t quite ready to start so we let Dr. Potter know that we would be in touch in a few months as we knew we were on board to commit to this process. I contacted HRC fertility in Newport Beach in September letting them
    Know that I was ready to start cycling. It started with a bunch of tests, an ultrasound, a mock transfer, and even a glucose tolerance test. All went pretty well but the glucose test reveal a slight insulin intolerance which led the doctor to prescribe me metformin to take immediately and continue through 10 weeks of pregnancy. To explain that part of it; I guess when you have a glucose intolerance it can cause the fertility medication that is given to produce your eggs to hinder the quality therefore causing a loss of eggs available for transfer. So I began taking the metformin along with several different vitamins and awaited my start date for injections.