Page 1 of 18 12311 ... LastLast
    Dreamer

Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    Uploads

Blue Sway Folic Acid QQ - Please help!

Hi, I have posted this elsewhere but not sure it was on the right thread (I'm a newbie in case you can't tell ) so posting here just in case this is the right place....

I recently did a blue sway and took 2000mg Folate and 700ug folic acid (300ug in Centrum + 400ug folic acid tablet) while TTC. I did larger amounts of both as this was following on from two recurrent miscarriages.

I am now, I believe, 5w pregnant and waiting for a scan to confirm it's viable (also debating whether or not to take progesterone to prevent another miscarruage... but that's another story, I'll try to keep things simple!).

I really need to know if I should keep these Folate and folic acid levels up until the 12 week mark? (which, God willing, I will reach!)? Particularly that large amount of folic acid and I've read some conflicting things about safety online, so should I wean down now?

Many many thanks!

Ruby

Swaying Advice Coach
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    Uploads
    Yes, I have your post open on my browser and I had read this question but it was a longer post and I didn't get through it yet.

Keep the higher intake of folate/FA till the end of the first trimester and then start weaning off. The neural tube is closed at that point and you can wean off.

The possible risks of too much folic acid firstly is NOT from 700 ug (and your body is ok with folate, so that doesn't count). It is only much higher amounts taken later on in pregnancy and even then, any potential risk is very sketchy. If you wean off at the end of the first tri that is fine and what many of us (who were prescribed much higher doses) took.

What I would do is at maybe 10ish weeks start dialing it back slightly and plan to be down to the amount in the prenatal by the end of the 13th week.
    !!! Questions?? Check out the NEW and improved Complete Index !!!