Thread: IVF Timeline

Dreamer
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    Uploads

IVF Timeline

I'm new to the whole concept of HT and IVF/PGD.
    Wondering if anyone can give me a rough idea of the timeline for IVF....basically breaking down the extraction process and then the implantation process and how long each takes and how long between 'attempts'.

I ask for the following reasons:
    1. I'm 40, turing 41 in June 2016. My door is closing quickly and I don't know if I want to do IVF after 42 so I have about 18 months of TTC.
    2. If we retrieve some embryos and end up with a few healthy females ones how many weeks do you have to wait between 'trys'? Basically once you get the embryos can you implant them every cycle or do you have to do it every other (this would make sense as once you get the BFN it would probably be too late in that particular cycle). So timing wise wondering if you can take a shot every 2 months?
    3. What is the cost of implanting the egg? Vs. retrieving the eggs making embryos with sperm and testing....just a side question.

Sorry for my really rough language regarding all this. I'm so new to the whole concept just trying to get my head wrapped around on if this is a good option. We plan to meet with my OB, a urologist and a local IVF clinic in the next few weeks so I'm sure I get some more answers but understanding things before meeting with professionals would be helpful as I'll know what questions to ask them.

Thank you!
    (2011) (2014)

2. Thanks Giselle2016 thanked for this post
    IVF Advice Coach
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    Downloads
    Uploads
    Hi there. You should read the link in my signature. The HT Guide. It provides an overview. You should also become a Dream Member so you can see the HT forums and the cycle diaries that document all the past cycles people have been through on here. Those will give you a great idea of how a cycle goes. It's only $19 and it is worth it.