Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hair loss

Big Dreamer

Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    Uploads

Hair loss

I have been doing the le diet for a few months now, but am loosing handfuls of hair every day. Should I add a multi vitamin?
    Feb. '11
    Dec. '12
    Dec. '14
    Praying for 2015

Dream Vet

Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    Uploads
    I would do some blood tests for iron insufficiency if this happened to me ( I know because i have anemia and when this happens it usually is due to drop of my iron levels). Do you take folic acid or folate?

Big Dreamer

Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    Uploads
    I am taking folic acid and fiber pills. I have been on a low carb /high protein diet since last summer. I plan on cutting back my protein & upping my carbs in the next couple of weeks, ttc in October. Is there something OTC that I could take that would help with hair loss and not hurt my pink sway? Blood tests are probably a good idea.
    Feb. '11
    Dec. '12
    Dec. '14
    Praying for 2015

Swaying Advice Coach
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    Uploads
    Most of the time when people have blamed LE Diet for hair loss (and I mean 99 times out of 100), it's turned out to be for some other reason entirely. Have you recently stopped or started BCP or any hormonal supplements?

I know several people both IRL and from stories online, who have had hair loss from low carb diets so my suspicion is that being the cause of this. so much so that there's even a livestrong article about it specifically Can a Low Carb Diet Cause Hair Loss? | LIVESTRONG.COM High protein, low carb diet is not LE Diet.

The thing is that if you're on a high protein diet, you are already getting everything I'd have you add. So I am EXTREMELY wary for the sake of your sway, to have you add in a multivitamin when that is probably not what the issue is here.