Dream Newbie

Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    Uploads

Confused OPK newbie - soo confused!

Afternoon

So I'm new to all the O testing - but have been testing for the past week on the 5th it was an obvious neg, 6th faint pos (but obviously there), 7th was really faint (almost non-existent) and then today was really faint again, we have BD'd every night. But still unsure if the faint is as good as it will get? Or is my cycle weird maybe.

I have a 27 day cycle, with a normal AF.

With my first we conceived by BD'ing around ovulation time once, so it was easy..

Any advice?

Dream Vet
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    Uploads
    What CD are you? And what do you mean by 'faint positive'? OPKs aren't like pregnancy tests, the test line needs to be as dark as the control or darker to be considered positive. It sounds like you are still a ways out from O. It's normal to have some variation from day to day. What time of day are you testing? Remember to only compare tests taken around the same time of day, as LH levels fluctuate throughout the day. They usually peak late morning to afternoon, for most women, and your level in urine can be much lower other times of day.

I recommend doing some general googling and reading up on OPKs and how they work. Searching on here will bring up threads similar to yours with detailed answers, too.

If you're swaying blue, just keep BDing every day or at least every other day if you think you might O soon, that way you have multiple attempts no matter what. Plus frequent BD maintains sperm health.

My Ovulation Chart
    currently TTC, Cycle #16 since last BFP

TTC #1 - swaying pink on & off since Nov 2013 - hoping for a girl first but excited for either!

Dec 2001 - May 2006 : 5 early abortions of healthy singletons (3 medical @5w, 2 surgical @8w, last 4 pregnancies conceived with late DH, all conceived while TTA/on birth control)