Ask The Expert

Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    Uploads

From IviGen's Genetic Counselor

Hi everyone,

I just wanted to introduce myself and IviGen. My name is Alyssa, and I am IviGen's genetic counselor. IviGen offers highly reliable genetic testing to determine the gender of embryos as part of the IVF process. Our test combines aneuploidy screening of chromosomes (PGS or CCS) with an additional step to confirm the gender. This test is called GenderSure and is 99.9999 accurate!

I have been exploring this site and learning so much from everyone's posts. I began working with IviGen since its inception, and I have a long-standing interest in fertility and family building. My background is in genetic counseling and the genetics of preimplantation embryos. I look forward to discussions here and answering any questions you might have.

Sincerely,

Alyssa C Snider, MS, PhD, LCGC
    Alyssa C. Snider, MS, PhD, LCGC

Dream Vet
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    Uploads
    I have 3 little girls. My husband had a semen analysis and I know men make 50/50 as far as xx and xy. My question is....can we do anything to improve chances of having more xy?
    DD1 DD2 DD3

HT August 2014

Ask The Expert

Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    Uploads
    Hi Alyssasmom789! Thank you for your question. This website has a lot of great ideas and suggestions for how to conceive a boy (or a girl). At IviGen, we test embryos that are already conceived through IVF to determine the gender. Embryos that are of the desired gender may then be transferred to the mother for the pregnancy.