Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Dream Vet
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    Uploads

Canadian Healthcare and Early U/S?

Ok, now that it looks like I'm pregnant, I'm obviously starting to worry this bean isn't going to stick. Here in Canada we don't normally see anyone for a pregnancy appointment until about 10 weeks. That just seems sooooooo long to me. Last pregnancy my bean was probably gone for at least a month without me knowing it before I m/c at 11 weeks.

Does anyone here (particularly Canadians) know whether I could go to my family doctor and request an earlier u/s? If I'm not technically under the care of my midwife until 10 weeks, that's not double-dipping into medicare, right? Note that my doctor is not an OB, but he's ordered a couple of u/s for me before as a follow-up to my m/c care and since he's sympathetic to everything I've gone through, I think maybe I could convince him to order an early pregnancy u/s for me too....

When would I first be able to be able to see a heartbeat? Is it 6 weeks?
    Identical Twin Boys, May 2006

DS3, June 2009

Lost at 11 Weeks, November 2011

DD, September 2012

I can't believe I have a daughter!
    Thank you everyone at Gender Dreaming and may all your dreams come true as well!

Dream Vet
    Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    Uploads