Dream Vet

Post Thanks / Like
    Downloads
    Uploads

Fresh vs Frozen & 3 day vs 5 day testing!

Hi Ladies,

I am new to the HT boards. I had been on the gender swaying boards for months, and am now 20 weeks pregnant with our 3rd boy (swaying didn't work for me!!). Anyways, my husband and I have agreed that we are willing to have one more baby, and will definitely go HT. I want to be 100% positive that we will get pregnant with a girl next time...

Anyways I have been researching clinics (there are so many in the US!), and their techniques. Most seem to test the embryos for the 3 major chromosomal abnormalities, as well as gender, and then do a fresh transfer on that cycle at 5 days. However, I found a clinic in Arizona whose Doctor offers full genetic testing of all 23 chromosomes on the blastocycsts at 5 days, but he also then does NOT do a fresh transfer that cycle. The results of the full genetic testing take a week to return, and then he does a FET 53 days later, once the cycle has been properly prepared. He was certain that there was benefit to doing a FET on a non-stimulated cycle, for better success (also because you test all the chromosomes, not just the ones that are most common to be abnormal). He boasts an 85-88% success rate, and 35-50% twins on 2 embryo transfers (yikes...). Have any of you heard of this? I'm just trying to decide whether we should go that route, or go to a clinic in the US closer to us (we live in Canada, so we have to cross the border) that offers the basic testing at 3 days, and fresh transfer at 5 days.

What do you think??

Thanks!
    October 2009 February 2011 November 2012 April 2014

Hoping for our !

Cycle 1 HRC Dec 2013: 13 eggs retrieved, 9 mature, 8 fertilized, 4 HB frozen
    Cycle 2 HRC Feb 2014: 19 eggs retrieved, 15 mature, 15 fertilized, 12 HB + 4 frozen tested
    4 XX / 4 XY
    March 18, 2013 - BFP; Saw heartbeat at 6 weeks & 7 weeks
    April 12, 2013 - 8 weeks, no longer a heartbeat & M/C due to large SCH.